Trump’s travel ban at stake again

| 14 March 2017, 04:20

Several states have joined the move to block the second revised temporary Donald Trump's ban on refugees and travelers from several Muslim-majority countries, seeing it as the first executive order that was halted by federal courts.

California, Maryland, Massachusetts, New York and Oregon joined the state of Washington to stop the March 6 order from taking effect on Thursday.

The first ban was rapidly put in place in January which created panic and led to protests in the US. The second order came in March and gave 10 days' notice to travelers and immigration officials.
It was revised to address legal challenges – it took Iraq off the list and exempted green card and current visa holders.

Citizens of Iran, Libya, Syria, Somalia, Sudan and Yemen are banned from entering the United States for 90 days. In the meantime, refugees are still barred for 120 days, but the new order removed an indefinite ban on all refugees from Syria.

Washington state accompanied by other states has gone to the same judge again to ask him to apply his emergency halt to the new ban as well.